© Copy Right Reserved 2018 St. Kidane Mehret ETOC Sacramento California

The Holy Sacraments

St. Kidane Mehret Church teaches the Christian faith of the Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahido Church. We belive in the Holy Trinity: The Father, The Son, and The Holy Spirit. . The Ethiopian Orthodox Church shares a common faith with the five sister Oriental Orthodox Churches, which include: Ethiopian, Egyptian, Syrian, Indian, Armenian and Eritrean.The Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahdo Church follows the same beliefs as the Oriental Orthodox churches in the seven sacraments of baptism, confirmation, communion, confession, the anointing of the sick and holy matrimony. A church sacrament is a holy ordinance through which the believer receives an invisible grace under the form of an outward sign, visible or audible. The Bible contains some instructions regarding every one of the seven sacraments.


The Saint Kidane Mehret Orthodox Tewahido Church serves the faithful through the seven sacraments. These sacraments are called mysteries because the invisible grace of the Holy Spirit is granted through them. Taking the example of pillars as has been said in the Proverbs of Solomon as a starting point; our Church teaches that there are seven sacraments (Proverbs 9:1). Of the seven listed below, both a bishop and a priest can perform the six sacraments. But only a bishop confers ordination. 


 Baptism is the sacrament through which we are reborn and enter the Kingdom of God (Jn 3:5). Baptism has a Biblical basis (Mt. 28:19). Through Baptism sin is forgiven (Acts 2:8). Cleansing and blessing is attained through Baptism (1pet. 3:21; Tit. 3:5). Baptism is being born from the Holy Spirit. At the time when Jesus Christ was baptized, heaven was opened, and the mystery revealed (John 3:3) (Mathews 3:16). By accepting this truth, our Church baptizes people in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holly Spirit in order to make them Children of Jesus Christ. According to the Apostle Mathew, Jesus Christ told his disciples to go and baptize all the people in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holly Spirit and make them disciples (Mathew 28:19). For this reason, Our church baptizes infants and makes them the true Children of God. Boys are baptized on the 40th day of their birth while girls are baptized on the 80th day (Leviticus 12). 

 (Confirmation (Myron) 

  is the holy ointment that one is anointed with after Baptism. Confirmation, like Baptism, is performed once and cannot be repeated. Through the sacrament of confirmation, the believer is granted the gift of the Holy Spirit. In the Apostolic times the baptized person was granted the Holy Spirit by laying of the hands (Acts 20:14-17). When the church expanded, however, the bishops who continued the works of the Apostles permitted the replacement of the laying of hands by the anointing of the Holy Oil. 

Holy Communion 

Holy Communion is the culmination of all sacraments of the Church. Holy Communion means offering of sacrifice. This is not an offering of man to God, but the offering of God for man. The sheep and goats were offered as sacrifices in the altars during the times of the Old Testament. These were examples preceding the offering of the flesh and blood of Christ during the New Testament. The offering of bread and cup of grace that Melchizedek offered to Abraham (Gen. 14:18) and the sacrifices that the Israelites offered during the day of their liberation exemplify Christ our Pascal lamb. Holy Communion has Biblical basis (Mt. 26:26 ). During the Liturgy (Mass) service, the priest cleans his hands and announces that people should be in good standing and confess their sins before hand to receive Holy Communion.When the priest puts the bread on the paten and the wine in the chalice and conducts liturgical prayer, the bread is changed into the body of the Son of God and the wine into the blood of the Son of God. 


This is the sacrament through which the clergy are entitled to perform the various spiritual services of the Church and it has Biblical basis (Mt. 28:19,20; Eph. 4:11; Acts 26:20). 


Christian marriage is one of the seven sacraments, which is performed in a church by means of which the grace of the Holy Spirit is obtained. Holy Matrimony is based on the Bible

(Gen. 1:27, 28,2:18; Mt. 19:4-6). 


Confession or Penance means to feel remorse, repent and cleanse oneself from sin. Although Christians are reborn through Baptism, human beings still commit sins. Those who confess their sins, receive the grace of God. Worshipers who wish to confess their sins can make private appointments with the St. Kidane Mehret priest to make confessions and receive prayer of forgiveness. 

The anointing of the sick/Unction 

Unction of the sick is the Sacrament through which the priest anoints the body of the sick asking for divine grace to cure both body and soul.St. Each of the Seven Sacraments has its own book of prayer and system of application. According to the Orthodox church belief,the Seven Sacraments as a whole are considered as manifestations of the faith and tenets of the religion of the Church.  Members of the church are allowed to take Unction (Holy water) home. The consecration of holy water is for the healing of physical and spiritual sickness and sin. Holy Unction, like all sacraments, is exclusively reserved for members of the Orthodox Tewahdo Church.